Tuesday, November 8, 2016

Council Opens 2016 Contest


The Council for Wisconsin Writers announces that its awards contests are open for entries for work published in 2016.

From: Council for Wisconsin Writers  www.wiswriters.org

Contact: Jerrianne Hayslett jfarhsi@aol.com  414-766-9481

Release Date: now

The Council for Wisconsin Writers opens its Wisconsin Writers Awards contests on Nov. 1. Work published by Wisconsin writers in 2016 is eligible in seven categories, including book-length fiction, nonfiction and poetry; short fiction and nonfiction; a set of five poems two of which must have been published in the contest year, and children’s literature.

First-place winners receive $500 and a one-week writer's residency at Shake Rag Alley in Mineral Point WI. Honorable mention recipients receive $50  and a one-week writer's residency at the Painted Forest Study Center in Valton WI.

Entries for this year’s Wisconsin Writers Awards must be postmarked no later than Jan. 31, 2017. Authors who enter must be current Wisconsin residents.

The entry fee is $25. Membership in CWW is not required, but members are entitled to one free entry. Out-of-state judges will make the selections. Awards will be presented at a banquet in May 2017. The Major Achievement Award for 2016 will also be presented at the May banquet. That award, which includes a prize of $1,000, recognizes a Wisconsin writer for work of extraordinary literary merit.

CWW also sponsors an Essay Award for Young Writers (1,500 word maximum) for Wisconsin high school students; there is no entry fee. The award is $250 for the winning student. Members of the board will judge. Entries for the student essay contest must be postmarked no later than Jan. 31, 2017.

Specific guidelines, entry forms, and important additional information for each award category are available in the 2016 Entry Forms section of the website, wiswriters.org/2016-contest-entry-forms.

CWW is a nonprofit organization dedicated to celebrating the accomplishments of published Wisconsin writers and encouraging an appreciation of Wisconsin writing.

For more information about the Council for Wisconsin Writers and its Awards program, please go to www.wiswriters.org.


No comments: