Monday, March 20, 2017

New Book Festival coming to Northeast Wisconsin April 28-30

Untitled Town Book and Author Festival
Book Expo

Where: Green Bay area venues
When: April 28-30
Why: to unite readers with authors

Founded by area leaders and activists, UntitledTown exists to unite readers with authors, writers with other writers and publishers, podcasters with philosophers, and every scenario in-between. Over a stretch of three days across downtown Green Bay, April 28-30, people of all ages and abilities will come together to share their stories and celebrate the community’s love of reading at the inaugural UntitledTown Book and Author Festival.

“This Festival will be the first occasion in recent Green Bay history in which thousands of people interested in book culture have been purposefully gathered,” says Alex Galt, co-owner of Kavarna Coffeehouse. “Individuals who may have felt that they lived and worked in isolation will have the opportunity to find one another for the first time.

“What’s most striking about this event is that Northeastern Wisconsin has always had an extremely rich history of storytelling and love of reading. Readers and writers have always found each other in tiny groups and conversations. Our talent and love of the written word has always been here – this is just the first time that an entire weekend has been devoted to celebrating those clusters of book people.”

The Festival will feature a diverse lineup of more than seventy readings, discussions, panels, workshops and other events of interest to writers and readers, including a book expo. Nearly every individual event is free and open to the public.

Confirmed Festival venues include the Brown County Library, Titletown Brewery’s Larsen Room, The Meyer Theatre Backstage, Kavarna Coffeehouse, the KI Center, St. Brendan’s Inn and Old Fort Square, with more to come. A complimentary UntitledTown trolley will be available for attendees to access each venue easily, sponsored by Breakthrough Fuel and Crystal Clear Resources.

Nationally recognized, award-winning authors are scheduled, such as Dan Chaon, Kate Harding, Benjamin Percy, Michael Perry, A.S. King, and Nickolas Butler, as well as local talents such as Miranda Paul, Melissa Gorzelanczyk, Blair Braverman, Dennis Rockhill, Liam Callanan, Emilie Lindemann, Dan Egan and more. Two VIP novelists will also be announced at the press conference.

Support for UntitledTown is made possible by several corporate and non-profit donors, with generous lead sponsorships provided by Breakthrough Fuel and Crystal Clear Resources. Other support include Friends of the Brown County Library, The Kress Foundation, On Broadway, Cellcom, The City of Green Bay, Nicolet National Bank, WPS, The Reader’s Loft, Wisconsin Humanities Council, UWGB Alumni Foundation, and Camera Corner Connecting Point. Sponsorships are still available and can be initiated at UntitledTown.org.

To LEARN MORE

UntitledTown Book and Author Festival will host a public Press Conference Wednesday, March 29th at 9 AM on the main level of the Brown County Central Library.

Two Q&As will also be held, open to the public: the first on March 30th at the Titletown Tap Room at 5:30 pm and the second on April 15th at the Reader’s Loft from 1 pm until 3 pm. The Reader’s Loft Q&A session will award free swag bags filled with books to the first 15 attendees.

For more information, follow UntitledTown Book and Author Festival on:
Twitter @untitledtowngb
Instagram @untitledtown
Facebook https://www.facebook.com/untitledtown/
Or subscribe to their email list on UntitledTown.org

UntitledTown is a Registered 501c3 Organization promoting all aspects of book culture.
To make a donation, get involved or learn more, visit UntitledTown.org

Thursday, February 2, 2017

Prolific Author Janet Halfmann

More with Janet Halfmann...
Learn about her amazing and growing collection on Goodreads

What are you reading now?
I’m reading Newbery Medal winner Holes by Louis Sachar. I’m also reading Bjorn’s Gift, the second book in a middle grade trilogy by fellow Wisconsin author Sandy Brehl about how families were affected by and resisted the German occupation of Norway during World War II.

Lisa: I love Sandy and her work! Bjorn's Gift was just published last October by Crispin Books.

Share some of the books you read last year that you recommend.
One of the most compelling books I read last year was Newberry Honor winner Brown Girl Dreaming, a story in verse of the mesmerizing childhood journey of Jacqueline Woodson to find her place in life.

I also would recommend Odin’s Promise, the first book in Sandy Brehl’s trilogy. Eleven-year-old Mari and her dog Odin are characters you’ll definitely want to follow beyond one book.

I’ve also read many picture books and board books. Some of my favorites are those with wonderfully diverse art illustrated by Vanessa Brantley Newton.

What’s next for you?
My next book, set to release this year or next, is in a similar vein to Seven Miles to Freedom, and will come out from the same publisher, Lee & Low Books. This time an amazing enslaved woman is featured.

I am currently working on another manuscript about several enslaved people who went on to greatness, and I recently finished two manuscripts for the very young inspired by our newest grandson.

Do you work on more than one project at a time?

I generally work on only one project at a time because to do my best work I need to completely immerse myself in a project. The manuscript takes over my mind and imagination even when I’m not sitting at my desk.

About Janet:
Janet Halfmann is an award-winning children’s author who strives to make her books come alive for young readers and listeners. She has written forty fiction and nonfiction books.

Janet writes picture books about nature and animals. She also writes about little-known people who have accomplished amazing feats, such as Robert Smalls in Seven Miles to Freedom.

Before becoming a children’s author, Janet was a daily newspaper reporter, children’s magazine editor, and a creator of coloring and activity books for Golden Books in Racine, Wisconsin. She is the mother of four and the grandmother of five. When Janet isn’t writing, she enjoys gardening, exploring nature, visit living-history museums, and spending time with her family. She grew up on a farm in Michigan and now lives with her husband in South Milwaukee, Wisconsin.

Thursday, January 19, 2017

Meet Janet Halfmann Childrens Book Author

Good Night, Little Sea Otter
Star Bright Books

Has just released in board book version: English and English/Spanish
Also available in hardcover and softcover
        
Softcover is available in 8 languages: Arabic/English, Burmese Karen/English, English, French/English, Hmong/English, Navajo/English, Portuguese/English, Spanish/English
         
$5.99 paperback
$7.99 board book
Purchase links:

Janet, what do you love about Goodnight, Little Sea Otter?
I love how some kids after listening to the story want their caregivers to wrap them in a seaweed blanket just as Mama sea otter does in the book. And I LOVE, LOVE the art by Wish Williams. When I’m signing books, people will spot the art from across the room and rush over to see it close up.

Lisa: The seaweed blanket is so sweet and the illustrations lush!

Tell us about this book’s character.
Little Sea Otter is pretty much like any young child who wants to put off bedtime as long as possible. I like how curious Little Sea Otter is and how patient his Mama is while still managing to get him to settle down for the night. The ocean with all its wonderful creatures is also a character in this book.

Share two things you learned about yourself, your setting, or the publishing world while writing this book.
I learned how to really focus on making my words capture the feeling of rocking on the ocean waves. I also discovered a lot about the amazing life of a kelp forest.

Lisa: This Grandma is glad to have found a new author to LOVE! 

Animal TeachersAnimal Teachers
Blue Apple Books

$17.99
Purchase links:

Janet, tell us what do you love about Animal Teachers.
I love the questions at the end of each spread that allow children to relate the animal lesson to their own lives. These questions were a suggested addition to my manuscript by the editor, and I think they add so much to the book. Parents and caregivers tell me they love listening to their child’s answers.

How did you decide on your topic and what do you hope readers will learn?
I decided to write about animal parents teaching their young after noticing many similarities in how this is done between animals and humans. I was fascinated, and I thought kids would be, too. I think kids like to see how animals mirror their own lives.

I hope all my books about nature will help children appreciate the value of all living things

Share two things you learned about yourself, your setting, or the publishing world while writing this book.

I was reminded again about the great suggestions an editor often brings to a project. I also learned a lot of fun information about how young animals grow up.

Lisa: That sounds wonderful. There's a lot to learn no matter how old we are, or what profession we practice.



About Janet:
Janet Halfmann is an award-winning children’s author who strives to make her books come alive for young readers and listeners. She has written forty fiction and nonfiction books.

Janet writes picture books about nature and animals. She also writes about little-known people who have accomplished amazing feats, such as Robert Smalls in Seven Miles to Freedom.

Before becoming a children’s author, Janet was a daily newspaper reporter, children’s magazine editor, and a creator of coloring and activity books for Golden Books in Racine, Wisconsin. She is the mother of four and the grandmother of five. When Janet isn’t writing, she enjoys gardening, exploring nature, visit living-history museums, and spending time with her family. She grew up on a farm in Michigan and now lives with her husband in South Milwaukee, Wisconsin.

Saturday, December 17, 2016

Free For All Jan 6 at All Writers

Council for Wisconsin Writers Contest OPEN!

SIX WEEKS TO GO …
   … for work published in 2016 to be entered in the Council for Wisconsin Writers’ annual awards contests. Entries must be postmarked by Jan. 31, 2017.

     Work published by Wisconsin writers in 2016 is eligible in seven categories, including book-length fictionnonfiction and poetryshort fiction and nonfiction; a set of five poems two of which must have been published in the contest year, and children’s literature.

     First-place winners receive $500 and a one-week writer’s residency at Shake Rag Alley in Mineral Point WI. Honorable mention recipients receive $50  and a one-week writer’s residency at the Painted Forest Study Center in Valton WI.

     Entries for this year’s Wisconsin Writers Awards must be postmarked no later than Jan. 31, 2017. Authors who enter must be current Wisconsin residents.

     The entry fee is $25. Membership in CWW is not required, but members are entitled to one free entry. Out-of-state judges will make the selections. Awards will be presented at a May 13, 2017, banquet. The Major Achievement Award for 2016 will also be presented at the May banquet. That award, which includes a prize of $1,000, recognizes a Wisconsin writer for work of extraordinary literary merit.

     CWW also sponsors an Essay Award for Young Writers (1,500 word maximum) for Wisconsin high school students; there is no entry fee. The award is $250 for the winning student. Members of the board will judge. Entries for the student essay contest must be postmarked no later than Jan. 31, 2017.

     Specific guidelines, entry forms, and important additional information for each award category are available in the 2016 Entry Forms section of the website, wiswriters.org/2016-contest-entry-forms.


CWW is a nonprofit organization dedicated to celebrating the accomplishments of published Wisconsin writers and encouraging an appreciation of Wisconsin writing.

For more information about the Council for Wisconsin Writers and its Awards program, please go to www.wiswriters.org, or contact any of CWW’s board members at www.wiswriters.org/about/board-of-directors/

Monday, December 12, 2016

Thriller for Contemporary Political Fiction Junkies: Presidential Purchase

Presidential Purchase : A President's Confession

Presidential Purchase
Dawn Kunda
November, 2016

Political Thriller, Suspense
Buy on Amazon 

About the Book
What will it cost? A novice journalist learns the scathing details of the former President of the United States' deadly campaign for office. Dale Sorenson got the surprise call of his life. Former President Robert Manfield wants to detail his path to the presidency. The president infers there will be a golden nugget at the end of the trail so long as Sorenson agrees to inform the American citizens on the importance of this interview. Back in the woods of northern Wisconsin and under tight security, Dale meets with President Manfield. A series of discussions add more questions than answers as to what the president truly wants to reveal. Unknown to Dale and the president, as the story closes in on the PAC influence, the money, and the driving power of a successful campaign, a gun smolders at a nearby town. The gun does not act alone. The gun does not quit until the main target is found. The team directing the gun has deep pockets that will not stop without a successful mission.

My Review
Kunda’s latest thriller is a frightening, could-be-true tale of modern American politics. What goes into maneuvering and manipulating for control of the world’s top office? Is it really the foremost voice on the planet? Readers get a fictional taste of who’s really holding the strings when they read Presidential Purchase.

Told in multiple viewpoints and alternating past and present, readers are drawn into the making of a president, and the small-town world of Wisconsin newspaper reporter Dale Sorenson who’s been chosen as the voice of the world’s most important secret. Why him? Why not—in the atmosphere of trust no one, not even yourself (as we learn when the former president goes to share the secret), there’s no place like home to start the fires of revelation burning.

Watch the big boys go down in this winding tale of betrayal, murder, and ulterior motives that will leave you thinking, maybe? Wow!

About the Author

As a former private investigator with a BS in Political Science and attendance at Thomas M. Cooley Law School, Dawn is only intensely satisfied with suspense in her writing. She is a member of Romance Writers of America and Kettle Moraine Writers’ Guild. She lives in Wisconsin with her husband and dogs. Dawn would love her readers to visit her website at dawnkunda.com and contact her with questions or comments at dawnkunda@dawnkunda.com.

Tuesday, November 8, 2016

Council Opens 2016 Contest

CWW OPENS 2016 WISCONSIN WRITERS CONTESTS 

The Council for Wisconsin Writers announces that its awards contests are open for entries for work published in 2016.

From: Council for Wisconsin Writers  www.wiswriters.org

Contact: Jerrianne Hayslett jfarhsi@aol.com  414-766-9481

Release Date: now

The Council for Wisconsin Writers opens its Wisconsin Writers Awards contests on Nov. 1. Work published by Wisconsin writers in 2016 is eligible in seven categories, including book-length fiction, nonfiction and poetry; short fiction and nonfiction; a set of five poems two of which must have been published in the contest year, and children’s literature.

First-place winners receive $500 and a one-week writer's residency at Shake Rag Alley in Mineral Point WI. Honorable mention recipients receive $50  and a one-week writer's residency at the Painted Forest Study Center in Valton WI.

Entries for this year’s Wisconsin Writers Awards must be postmarked no later than Jan. 31, 2017. Authors who enter must be current Wisconsin residents.

The entry fee is $25. Membership in CWW is not required, but members are entitled to one free entry. Out-of-state judges will make the selections. Awards will be presented at a banquet in May 2017. The Major Achievement Award for 2016 will also be presented at the May banquet. That award, which includes a prize of $1,000, recognizes a Wisconsin writer for work of extraordinary literary merit.

CWW also sponsors an Essay Award for Young Writers (1,500 word maximum) for Wisconsin high school students; there is no entry fee. The award is $250 for the winning student. Members of the board will judge. Entries for the student essay contest must be postmarked no later than Jan. 31, 2017.

Specific guidelines, entry forms, and important additional information for each award category are available in the 2016 Entry Forms section of the website, wiswriters.org/2016-contest-entry-forms.

CWW is a nonprofit organization dedicated to celebrating the accomplishments of published Wisconsin writers and encouraging an appreciation of Wisconsin writing.

For more information about the Council for Wisconsin Writers and its Awards program, please go to www.wiswriters.org.

###