Saturday, January 6, 2018

Absurd fun from Manley Peterson

Bloated Goat      Funny Spam Emails


Manley Peterson book reviews

Bloated Goat
c. 2010

114 pp
$2.99 eBook
$7.19 print

Buy on Amazon 

About the Book:
Get ready to enjoy a gut-busting adventure full of crazy forest animals and hijinks galore. You’ll meet Granny Hammy, Cocky Doodle, Bloated Goat, and a wide assortment of wacky characters as they romp around the forest in this ill-conceived (but humorous!) plot. Watch in horror as the author tries to tie everything together with an explosive ending that you'll probably see coming ten miles away.
Give Bloated Goat a try today. What's the worse that could happen?
(The author is not responsible for your decision to waste money and valuable time on this book and potentially lose that job promotion you worked so hard for. Or maybe miss your favorite TV show. I'm sure everyone will understand once you start to explain how you ignored the birth of your first child because you were too engrossed in the chapter about the skunk wedding.)

My review:
I confess I’m not really sure what to say after reading the adventures of Bloated Goat and his friends. The story of a main character who is busy being carried around and married while in a not-conscious state while other events and side stories take place probably has a deeper meaning than me and my bottle of New Glarus on the second try could fathom. But maybe not. On the other hand, I have a feeling a little neighborhood up nort probably knows exactly what (and who) Manley Peterson is writing about. Or at least have fun talking about it at one of those dark little bars with the way big stuffed fish and deer on the walls and everybody knows your name. Or your odor.

But once you get to the end and read the origin of the story, it will make a lot more sense.

Funny Spam E-mails

$3.69
$7.49
Buy on Amazon 
63 pp

About the Book:
Dear Sir or Madam,
It is me from the Internet. Here to give you something. It is a book. Of funny emails. I am the creator of all emails, some might say. Kindly confirm all your information so that we can proceed and you get your gift. Do not worry or make skeptical. This is 100% legit and free, once you pay the small activation fee.
Kind Regard,
Spam


My review:
Yep, I recognize a few of those awkward spam mails too. Some are creepy, some just sad and yes, some downright funny.

Author Manley Peterson shares some of the creepier spam emails that got through his filters and that he opened, but the funniest part is his off the cuff responses (Yes, I will help you bring that one dollar you found over to America!) (call the police, call the army…don’t let her take my money!) I think I’m glad I’m not the only one who gets those creepy send me nude pictures, I like your smile, and you’re my soulmate! Messages.

As Peterson says, this little book is a good laugh. Probably not for kids.

About the Author:
Manley Peterson lives in northern Wisconsin and writes books for all ages, including the ages that don't exist yet. When not hunting for dangerous snow kittens or spelunking for hidden treasure, he likes to run, play video games, and entertain the family with awful jokes and tomfoolery.


Twitter: @ManleyP23

Thursday, December 28, 2017

new YA adventure from Tim Fox

Picture
Kindle $3.05
Young adult adventure, geared for ages 10-18

About the book:
Abandoned by her troubled mother, twelve-year-old Tracy moves to her Great-aunt Lynette's farm in southwest Wisconsin. At first lonely and feeling distant from the stern old lady, things change with the appearance of a stray cat. With the help of her neighbor, Mallory, and a conservation warden named Jamie, love begins to grow between Tracy and her aunt, and a friendship blooms among the unlikely group. Kitty and Tracy then begin exploring their surroundings—the farm, and a nearby wooded canyon. The adventure that follows solidifies their bond, and forever changes their lives.
Inspired in part by true events, A PLACE FOR YOU is a story of growth in love, friendship, and courage.

My review:
Tim Fox’s second adventure story for young people set in Wisconsin, A Place For You, is a sweet story for the young girl reader who loves cats and mysteries. Loosely based around the story of a leopard raised in India and released into the wild who comes to her former handler for help during a flood, Fox’s story opens with a viewpoint reflection from a sick housecat looking for help. Tracy, a tween girl recently taken from a neglectful parent and placed with a great-aunt, answers the cat’s plea, and a lesson in responsibility, friendship, and love changes what could have been a long, lonely summer into one of adventurous fun.
Fox also introduces his readers to Big Girl, a cougar raised by humans and released to nature. Big Girl recognizes that Tracy and her kitty are no harm to them, and eventually recognizes Tracy as a kindred spirit and instinctive helper.
Self-published. My review copy had a few easily fixable minor errors. Recommended particularly for about fifth graders who love adventure stories, aren’t afraid of adding to their vocabulary and in particular, love cats.

About the Author:
I live in southwest Wisconsin, not far from the Baraboo Hills.
Hiking and exploring Wisconsin’s state parks and wilderness areas, and working out (especially lifting things!) make for good times.
I was a teacher for 17 years. I’m now a personal fitness trainer and an “Olympic-style” weightlifting coach who runs a gym in his garage.

I live with my wife, Tammy, our three kids–Brian, Ben, and Abby, a chubby old cat named Ringo, and ex-stray kittens named Kitten and Oscar. On the web: http://www.journeysiceageadventure.com/

Friday, December 22, 2017

Writing adviser publishes second edition Writing Your Best Story

How To Write Your Best Story: Advice for Writers on Spinning an Enchanting Tale

Writing Your Best Story: Advice for Writers on Spinning an Enchanting Tale, Second Edition
By Philip Martin
Crickhollow Books
Copyright, November 15, 2017
168 pp.
Ebook $2.99
Print $14.95

Buy on Amazon

About the book:
“I find that most people know what a story is until they sit down to write one.” – Flannery O’Connor.

Beginning writers often wonder what it takes to get published. The second edition of this practical book looks at what really makes fiction work: good storytelling! Oddly, storytelling skills, despite their immense value to all writers, are seldom emphasized in writing courses.

How To Write Your Best Story explores three key elements that fuel the magic of story: intriguing eccentricity, delightful details, and satisfying surprises. The proven storytelling techniques are time-tested and used by the best authors, including by winners of the Nobel Prize, the Pulitzer, and National Book Award, as well as by commercially successful authors whose books appear on bestseller lists and whose work is treasured by generations of fans.

Written by an accomplished editor and indie-press publisher, this guide draws on the author’s decades of experience in the book trade, studying what really works for emerging writers and editing many books of advice on literary craft and career development.

The practical tips, techniques, and examples of best practices here draw on the work of great literary storytellers – from Shakespeare, Dickens, Robert Louis Stevenson, and Mark Twain to Willa Cather, E.B. White, and James Thurber to Neil Gaiman, Ivan Doig, and Patrick Rothfuss.

How To Write Your Best Story will help you understand how to craft better fiction (or nonfiction) and to get your best work published.

Lisa's review:
Framed in a story of the author’s creation, Philip Martin sets off to do what all good mentors teach—show, not tell—in this case, authors, how to create a good story that enchants.

Story should rise above narrative, Martin writes; more than groups of words, more than a series of events. It is also an art form. Quoting liberally from ancient to modern works, Martin employs his background as a professional gatherer of stories and histories to show how story works across culture and time to draw listeners in to a communal experience. Writers are more than purveyors of phrases. Writers offer a promise and provide the worthwhile payoff.

As an experienced editor of writer’s advice books, a former editor for best-selling mainstream authors, and the director of Great Lakes Literary, Martin shares his advice and technique for creating memorable works that hopefully attract an agent or editor. He takes a three-pronged approach, and so this book is divided into sections: start with a quirky hook; keep the middle more than readable by using delicious details, and finally, provide a satisfying ending.

Martin is not a fan of Plot. Plot, as a mechanism for writing a book, will make your work…mechanical. Contrived. Agenda-driven. Unimaginative. I believe his emphatic dissing of the term throughout the book is more a rebellion of the idea of plot, an issue of interpretation. After all, experienced authors are familiar with the idea of a novel being “plot-driven,” as in genre work, or “character-driven,” as more often describes non-specified fiction, aka literary work. No real matter, as Martin does make allowance for necessary underpinning of a story, whether compared to a sensual meal or a spider web. Plot is simply structure, whether an author uses it for a flexible framework, or discovers it after the story is complete. Structure works to create a commonly understood or shared experience. Too many authors use plot as a controlled formula, which Martin insists must be avoided.
Whether cyclic or arced or linear, a story has a beginning, middle, and an end. It’s the promise of a fine meal promised and fulfilled. Start with a desire or a want. Bait your hook with enticing morsels. Help the reader invest, establish resonating characters in intriguing environments. Give them a problem to work on. Create anticipation; offer satisfying surprises. “Delightful details” keep the reader’s interest and should build upon the premise. “Detail should triumph plot,” Martin says. Even while he dismisses Plot, Martin embraces Theme. “Theme should tell you what the ending should deal with,” he writes. Don’t try to find it until you’re well into your story. Theme is a message that answers why the story is important. The end of your tale should let the reader know this journey has been worthwhile, that he has returned better for having taken it with you, the story teller.

The book is well written with an easy-to-appreciate style. As mentioned above, he spins a story to show us how to create interesting characters with interesting problems who need interesting solutions to achieve desired outcomes. Martin also shares examples from well-known work to exemplify his points. While geared specifically with writers in mind, those who practice verbal story-telling would certainly benefit from reading and studying Writing Your Best Story. The premises and examples Martin lays out in the book apply to all kinds of writing from short story to full length novel, even on a certain level to non-fiction.

About the author
Image result for Philip MartinPhil Martin is an experienced editor of many books of advice for writers. Previously acquisitions editor for The Writer/Books, he had also written A Guide to Fantasy Literature and The Purpose of Fantasy, as well as award-winning books on traditional culture. He lives in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, where he directs Great Lakes Literary, offering editorial services and websites for authors. He also speaks and teaches workshops, and serves on the board of Novel-In-Progress Bookcamp and Writing Retreat, Inc.



Saturday, December 16, 2017

Fantasy Occult fiction from David M Meier



David M Meier
Horror, occult, fantasy

A Deadly Deal
April, 2017
ISBN: 978-1542404907
Ebook n/a
Print $11.95
Buy on Amazon

About the Book:
Some people label the mysteries of the world “unexplainable” and move on. But what if there were an explanation for strange occurrences—a dangerously sinister one?

A Deadly Deal peels back the layers of the unsolved aspects of our world to reveal another realm existing alongside our own…a realm that uses our world to gain power and perpetrate evil. The Realm Runners have the stunning capability to move between one world and the next, taking what they need to keep their own realm in balance; each world is simply a chess piece on a grand board. As young Sophia and Solice fight to unearth the truth during this fearsome game, they suspect they may be pawns in a master plan.

Fast paced and thrilling, A Deadly Deal examines the ways good and innocent people can be drawn into the shadows of corruption yet still fight for what is right. Will Solice become yet another dark creature? Will he find the strength—alongside the brave Sophia—to end this treacherous game once and for all?

A Deadly Deal immerses you in a tangled fantasy world of dishonesty, suspense, and masterful creative vision.

My review:
An interesting concept from a debut author, A Deadly Deal catapults readers into a parallel reality where life is a game with all kinds of choices—or is it?

Never really sure of the era or setting, the reader is dropped into what could be a horrible nightmare for a young woman the day before her wedding, or a virtual visit to the netherworld. The young woman, Sophia, is informed she is the chosen one, given a horrible gift, and returned to a wedding day equally horrifying.

Alister Grim acts as a master of the inexplicable parallel realm, where Realm Runner capture and return prey at will—but who’s? Full of action, dragons, ghouls, things that go in and out of bodies let alone bump in the night, fire and smoke, A Deadly Deal is story in which the reader never feels as though he knows what’s coming next.

While fairly clean and with pretty good dialog and action, the author will continue to work on technique to avoid over-tell and repetition, despite the continual motion of the story. A typo on the back cover copy would have made me put it down without reading it, and luckily is something fixable immediately. I was given a review copy, and this genre is not normally something I would pick up. Recommended for readers who enjoy dark stories, gaming, evil and more evil, magic spells, and the like. I’m not sure about the audience, but I don’t think I’d give it to younger than highly read eighth graders or high schooler. Fast read.

About the author:

David Meier has had a lifelong fascination with stories, whether in the form of a book, movie, or song. He ultimately chose to try his hand at the craft of writing. A Deadly Deal is Meier’s first book.

Wednesday, December 13, 2017

Find Your Heart Follow Your Heart with Keri Olson



Find Your Heart, Follow Your Heart: Get to the Heart of What Matters and Create Your Abundant, 
Authentic, Joyful Life
Keri Olson
Balboa Press, a division of Hay House
July 2017
Ebook $3.99
Paperback $11.99
Hardcover $26.58
ISBN 9781504384476

Buy on Amazon


About the Book:
Are you at a crossroads in your personal or professional life? Do you long for more meaning, joy, and authenticity? Do you feel stuck, yet crave something new?
Find Your Heart, Follow Your Heart is there to help guide you on your journey. Through a series of essays, affirmations, and associated questions, you'll explore topics intended to help you find opportunities for growth and illumination for your path.
This engaging book will help you discover the answers that are already there waiting for you--deep in your heart.

A brief interview with the author:
Welcome, Keri. Can you please share your motivation behind the book.
I was drawn to write Find Your Heart, Follow Your Heart following a series of life-threatening and life-altering illnesses I’ve experienced since I was in my 20s. Each of those illnesses has caused me to go deep within, to examine my life, to determine what’s important to me and then to frame my life going forward to provide the greatest amount of abundance, authenticity and joy. I was also drawn to the subject of hearts after finding heart-shaped stones and other heart-shaped objects on my daily walks.

What would you like readers to tell potential readers about the book? 
Find Your Heart, Follow Your Heart is part memoir and part inspiration, but it is mostly a book to engage readers to examine their lives. While the essays tell of my life experiences and thoughts, they are intended to fuel readers’ thinking about how each of the topics might relate to their own lives. The affirmations associated with each essay are designed to help readers articulate what they want. The questions following each essay invite readers’ contemplation and examination in order to better understand their deeper selves, hear what’s calling them, help set priorities, and create the life they want. The book’s epilogue offers tangible suggestions for utilizing the book as they go forward.

How are readers responding?
I am both overwhelmed and heartened by the volume, variety and heartfelt nature of the responses I have received from people who have read my book. Many have shared stories of the crossroads in their lives that have caused this period of self-examination and how my book has helped them. Some readers are using the book as a daily devotional tool, while others are using the affirmations in their daily lives.

About the Author:
A three-time cancer survivor, Keri Olson has learned the beauty and blessing of each day. Also
the survivor of a benign brain tumor and a benign spinal tumor that caused temporary paralysis, Keri recognizes that wholeness can coexist with illness.
Keri’s experiences with illness haven’t defined her, but they have caused her to go deep within her heart to examine what makes for an abundant, authentic, joyful life.
Keri is the author of three books, beginning with one she wrote for SSM Health St. Clare Hospital for its 40th anniversary, Healing Presence: A History of Caring.
Her second book, an e-book titled Time to Be: An Almanac of Short Essays about the Extraordinary Joy of Ordinary Moments, is available via OverDrive, Wisconsin’s Digital Library.
Her third and newest book from Balboa Press, Find Your Heart, Follow Your Heart: Get to the Heart of What Matters and Create Your Abundant, Authentic, Joyful Life, is available at major online retailers Amazon, Barnes & Noble and Balboa Press, as well as at independent booksellers, gift stores and galleries.
Keri writes a blog, Time to Be, about living in the moment with gratitude and gentleness: http://timetobe-keri.blogspot.com/.
She is also a guest blogger and a regular contributor to Medium and LinkedIn.
Drawing from her experiences with illness, Keri’s writing reflects awe, gratitude and joy for life's abundance.
As a public speaker, panelist and facilitator, Keri’s thoughtful and engaging presentations inspire audiences.
Over Keri’s 30-year career, she has served as the public relations director for Circus World Museum and its Great Circus Parade and Great Circus Train, as the director for the St. Clare Health Care Foundation, and as an organizational effectiveness professional employed by public and private sector businesses to lead them through change.
Keri lives in Baraboo with her husband, Larry McCoy.

For more information, visit www.keriolson.com.

Thursday, November 30, 2017

Tying the Scot debut historical romance by Jennifer Trethewey

Product Details

Tying the Scot
Jennifer Trethewey

Historical Romance
Series
c. November 2017
Entangled Amara

Ebook $3.99
Print – coming soon
Audible

Buy on Amazon

About the Book:
At age eleven, Alex Sinclair pledges an oath to the Duke of Chatham promising to serve and protect his illegitimate daughter, Lucy FitzHarris. Nine years later, the duke unexpectedly takes Alex up on his vow, offering the future Laird of Balforss his daughter’s hand in marriage.

Now a man, hotheaded Alex has difficulty convincing Lucy—who would rather starve to death than marry a vulgar Scot—to go through with the arranged marriage. Once Lucy arrives in Scotland, she cannot resist the magic of Balforss or the allure of her handsome Highland warrior. But when Alex seemingly betrays Lucy right before their wedding, she is tricked into running away. Alex must rein in his temper to rescue his lady from unforeseen danger and Lucy must swallow her pride if she hopes to wed the Highlander she has come to love.

My review:
Charming and delightful debut novel, wonderfully done. As described, it’s a marriage meant to be in the best interest of all parties—the illegitimate daughter of a Duke will never be accepted in London society, so is given to her father’s good friend and business partner’s son. Unfortunately, Lucy must travel north, away from everything she’s loved and known. Fortunately, Alex has grown up into a fine man. Lucy learns quickly there is much to love about Balforss, Alex’s home, and Alex, too—temper, playfulness, loyalty. Never having had a mother, she quickly takes to Alex’s family and their ways, and just when she’s decided that marriage better come fast before she and Alex get carried away, her past catches up to her.

I must say, with all the hype anticipating this book I was prepared for a bedroom romp, but the story is far from it. Sure, there’s sensual tension, but nothing out of the ordinary, and leads up to a highly anticipated wedding night. Well done, well crafted story to avoid being another cliché romance.

Told in multiple viewpoints from several characters, the author’s first book in the series shows adept, organic handling of customs, language and historical events without banging the reader over the head with brogue or unusual, unexplained practices or words. Some language. Tender and tough in all the right places. Recommended for those who enjoy Scottish or otherwise early nineteenth century historical romance and intrigue.

About the Author
Jennifer TretheweyHi, I’m Jennifer Trethewey and I write about men in kilts because, hey, what’s not to love about a man in a kilt? I was lucky enough to travel to Scotland twice. I have fallen in love with the Highlands and all things Scottish: the people, their language, cuisine, customs, idioms, humor, history, intense sense of pride, and, most of all, the land—the perfect setting for sweeping romantic tales of love, strife, and glory. As they say, Scotland is pure dead brilliant!

I’m an actress, former co-artistic director of a professional theater company, and my husband and I operate an improv comedy club. I live with my comedian husband in the Midwest where I’ve been ever since college.

I write both contemporary and historical fiction full time. I like to read romance, mystery, fantasy, and paranormal, as well as literary fiction and non-fiction. I love movies and music and dogs and good wine and I love to enjoy them all with my friends.












Tuesday, November 28, 2017

Walking Home Ground with Robert Root


Walking Home Ground book review
By Robert Root
Hardcover: $22.95
Paperback: $22.95
224 pages
ISBN: 978-0-87020-786-0
E-book: $9.99

Buy on Amazon


About the book
A lyrical mix of memoir, travel writing, and environmental history When longtime author Robert Root moves to a small town in southeast Wisconsin, he gets to know his new home by walking the same terrain traveled by three Wisconsin luminaries who were deeply rooted in place—John Muir, Aldo Leopold, and August Derleth. Root walks with Muir at John Muir State Natural Area, with Leopold at the Shack, and with Derleth in Sac Prairie; closer to home, he traverses the Ice Age Trail, often guided by such figures as pioneering scientist Increase Lapham. Along the way, Root investigates the changes to the natural landscape over nearly two centuries, and he chronicles his own transition from someone on unfamiliar terrain to someone secure on his home ground.

In prose that is at turns introspective and haunting, Walking Home Ground inspires us to see history’s echo all around us: the parking lot that once was forest; the city that once was glacier.” Perhaps this book is an invitation to walk home ground,” Root tells us. “Perhaps, too, it’s a time capsule, a message in a bottle from someone given to looking over his shoulder even as he tries to examine the ground beneath his feet.”

My review
Root begins his story by admitting he’s a non-native Wisconsinite, though claims home territory along the Great Lakes. A naturalist, an observer, teacher, and one endowed with curiosity, Root endeavored to discover and begin to learn all he could about his final home in a way few even bother to consider. Having just relocated from one side of the state to another to settle on a farm we’ve owned for over twenty years, I was enamored by Root’s introspection and tenacity to uncover secrets of the land, and perhaps, portend the future. He kept a detailed journal of his hikes, research, and thoughts for several years.

As mentioned in the blurb, Root follows three of our more known historical naturalist homeboys on his tour after becoming familiar with his immediate new neighborhood west of Milwaukee. He visits John Muir’s boyhood territory in Marquette County, as well as August Derleth’s Prairie du Sac/Wisconsin River, and Aldo Leopold’s sand country. These three lived and wrote about south central Wisconsin. Root spent hours with maps and literature from Wisconsin’s Department of Natural Resources and the Ice Age Trail Alliance, as well as dozens of resources about the authors, nature, topography, geography, history, and so forth about the area. The book is filled with generous details of the types of land, the differences between fen, bog, and marsh, the type of flora during the different seasons, underground, soil, native and invasive species. His knowledge of bird and animal life leaves me envious.

A somewhat saddened note sounds toward the end of the book in the section “The Land Itself.” “Settlement eliminated a great deal of Wisconsin life,” Root writes. Early pioneers describe a wondrous mix of topography and its supporting flora and fauna. “The last bison was killed in 1832,” he says, with a litany of now missing creatures. In his epilogue, Root invites us to “see the land as a community to which” we belong, and urges us to consider our lifestyle’s impact on the environment. He’s encouraged me to get to know my little piece of Wisconsin better.

Detailed and thought-provoking, Walking Home Ground is for those who love Wisconsin and enjoy nature and environmental reading. It’s a subtle call to action, and a request to remember where and who we are.

Any quibbles I had are the lack of maps, though I understand the reader is encouraged to get out his own map, or better yet, go. The book is detailed as mentioned above; once or twice I almost expected a test at the end of the segment. Included is an Index and a Resource list.

About the author

Bob Root (Robert L. Root Jr.) believes he has been a writer since he was around eight years old, when he came home with a friend from a showing of Superman and the Mole Men, pried open the lock on his mother’s typewriter, and created a series of very short adventures about Tiger Boy. Since then, his life and career have centered on his writing, his study of the way other writers compose, and his teaching of writers and writing teachers. His bachelor’s degree from State University College, Geneseo, New York, was in English education and theater and his graduate degrees from the University of Iowa were in English literature, but he also did post-graduate work in composition and rhetoric before beginning twenty-eight years of teaching at Central Michigan University. There he taught courses in composition and rhetoric, nonfiction, editing, English education, literature, and media. He retired from full time teaching in 2004 to devote more time to writing creative nonfiction and to writing about it.

A frequent presenter on creative nonfiction and composition at national, international, and regional conferences, his scholarship and teaching led to many articles and books. They include: a book for writers, Wordsmithery, which went through two editions; a book for teachers of writing (co-edited with Michael Steinberg), Those Who Do Can: Teachers Writing, Writers Teaching; and an anthology of creative nonfiction (also co-edited with Michael Steinberg) The Fourth Genre: Contemporary Writers of/​on Creative Nonfiction, now in its sixth edition. His essay “Collage, Montage, Mosaic, Vignette, Episode, Segment,” originally published in The Fourth Genre, has been used often in creative writing courses across the country. He has also published three books examining how nonfiction writers do what they do, Working at Writing: Columnists and Critics Composing, E. B. White: The Emergence of an Essayist, and The Nonfictionist's Guide: On Reading & Writing Creative Nonfiction.

His creative nonfiction includes essays of place published in literary journals such as North Dakota Quarterly, Colorado Review, Rivendell, Ecotone, The Concord Saunterer, and divide; “Knowing Where You’ve Been,” in Ascent, was named a Notable Essay in The Best American Essays 2004; "Postscript to a Postscript to 'The Ring of Time'" in The Pinch was a Notable Essay in 2010 as well as a Pushcart Nominee, and "Time and Tide" in Ascent was a Notable Essay in 2011. As an essayist he has been an Artist-in-Residence at Acadia National Park, Rocky Mountain National Park, and Isle Royale National Park; his anthology co-edited with Jill Burkland, The Island Within Us: Isle Royale Artists-in-Residence 1991-1998, won the 2001 Excellence in Media Award from the National Parks Service. He edited and contributed to Landscapes with Figures: The Nonfiction of Place, an anthology of essays and writers’ commentaries on their composing published in 2007 by the University of Nebraska Press. His first full-length work of creative nonfiction, Recovering Ruth: A Biographer’s Tale, was named a Michigan Notable Book in 2004 by the Library of Michigan. His second book-length work of creative nonfiction, Following Isabella, chronicles his attempt to learn how to live in Colorado by tracing the trail of nineteenth-century travel writer Isabella Bird around the Front Range. He has also published a collection of his essays, Postscripts: Retrospections on Time and Place, a collection of his essays for radio, Limited Sight Distance: Essay for Airwaves, and an edition of columns by his grandmother, Betsy Root, titled How to Develop Your Personality. He is the author of a family memoir, Happenstance. His twentieth book, Walking Home Ground: In the Footsteps of Muir, Leopold, and Derleth, a book of place set in Wisconsin, was published in Fall 2017.

From 1999 through 2013 Bob Root was a contributing editor for Fourth Genre: Explorations in Nonfiction, one of the first literary journals devoted exclusively to literary nonfiction. He continues to talk about creative nonfiction at creative writing and English education conferences and has been a visiting writer and speaker in writing programs at colleges and universities around the country. In addition to essays and haibun, he is presently at work on The Arc of the Escarpment, a travel narrative tracking the Niagara Escarpment across Wisconsin, Michigan, Ontario, and New York, and Literary Remains: Essaying Myself and Others, a polyptych memoir. 

From 2008 until 2017 Bob was a visiting faculty member in creative nonfiction in the MFA Program in Creative Writing at Ashland University in Ohio. He is currently a teaching artist at the Loft Literary Center in Minneapolis and a freelance editor of essays, memoirs, and literary nonfiction. He lives in Waukesha, Wisconsin.